What I wish I’d known – Shishir Malhotra

 

 

impact picture

Shishir Malhotra studied MSc Development Studies at SOAS in 2013 and currently works as an Impact Associate at LGT Venture Philanthropy. LGT Venture Philanthropy is an impact investor supporting organisations with outstanding social and environmental impact. Working in six continents, projects range from those that provide loans to hundreds of schools for children who can’t afford to attend in India to supporting dentistry clinic provisions in rural areas of Latin America and an apprenticeship agency in Europe.

How did you get into this role?
I started my career working for Barnardo’s the children’s charity on the Business development strategy team, it was great but I realised that I wanted to learn more about the world, so I came to SOAS to study for an MSc in Development Studies and I really enjoyed my time at SOAS. I then went to work for Save The Children as a campaign assistant and it was during this time that I attended a beginners course in Economics at the School of Economics Science – SES and met one of LGT’s directors who then invited me to their office for a chat and I was then offered a research/due diligence and advisory type role.

What advice would you give to students just starting our
My advice to students starting out in their career will be to network, don’t be afraid to talk to people who are doing things that you might find interesting. I found my current job through networking at an event I attended.

Work experience is also very important. Employers value the experience you can bring to the table. Also work experience could help you decide what sort of job you want to do and provide opportunities for you to develop the necessary skills and knowledge.

Lastly, I would say to student, challenge yourself, ask questions, learning something new. For example, attend events, forums, short course of areas that interest you. I got my job through networking with one of the lecturers at a short course delivered by SES. I learnt so much from attending such events and I encourage students to do the same.

For further information please visit the SOAS Careers webpage or call us on 020 7898 4115. Alternatively pop into room R101, College Building, for a chat.

Diana Omololu
Careers Consultant

About soascareers

We are the dedicated provider of careers advice, events and information services for current SOAS students, staff and GradClub members.

Leave a Reply

